750 grammes
Tous nos blogs cuisine Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Colloquial Cookin'
16 mars 2009

Irish Soda Bread

It's the leprechauns' no-knead bread. My roomies love it. It never survives the evening.


P1000531
Gold pots suck for soda bread.

We are talking ultra speedy bread-making here. The measurements don't need to be terribly accurate. I have put in brackets the unauthentic pimping-up that I make or not, depending on my supplies and my feeling flush.

Preheat your oven on 425°F with your cast iron pot inside, lid on. In a bowl, put 2 cups of flour (whole wheat, all purpose, or a mix of the two).

Add 1/2 tsp salt and 3/4 tsp baking soda. [Rub in a tablespoon of unsalted butter if you want your loaf to have that extra oomph. Think of butter as Irish soda bread's wonderbra®.] [Add a handful or two of raisins/dried cranberries/walnut pieces/whatever].

Pour about 7oz of buttermilk (I never ever measure it - I pour and stir with a spoon until it is moist enough to all stick together), and shape it in a ball with your handy-pandies. Don't bother kneading.


P1000530


Cut a cross on top of the dough, sprinkle with flour/rolled oats. Pop it in the cast iron pot, bake with lid on for 25 minutes, take the lid off and bake an extra 5 minutes. Let it cool as much as you can before you unleash your roomies. Wearing a football helmet may ultimately be a good idea. Or a colander.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
S
MMMMM...looks delicious! I have nearly the same recipe from Rachel Allen's book: Bake!
W
When I lived in Ireland, I lived on this stuff. I'd spread butter over the warm bread and top it with slices of smoked salmon - even that was cheap. One of my fondest food memories. I like the style of your bread, though. It looks gorgeous. Definitely going on my "reliving memories' cooking list.<br /> <br /> Will
M
Ooo I've never tried doing the lid on/off thing with soda bread before. Will have to try it next time. This looks gorgeous Claire!
C
I have wanted for so long to try making Irish Soda Bread but the photographs have never moved me to do so until now... thank you!
M
My favourite bread!!!!! and an easy one to make too, I like that.<br /> same question as above: où donc trouver du foutu "babeurre" en France? Any suggestions on what to use instead, darl?<br /> <br /> des bisous!
Colloquial Cookin'
Publicité
Colloquial Cookin'
Archives
Publicité